The Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plugs are my best overall pick in this lineup, pairing energy monitoring with Matter support and a 15A rating. For buyers focused on multi-plug value, the Govee four-pack stands out, while the Kasa KP125MP2 offers a Matter-enabled two-pack alternative. The main tradeoffs are ecosystem compatibility, whether a hub is required, and how useful each app’s energy data will be for your needs. Pack size also matters: a larger bundle can cover more outlets, but only if you want the same plug in several locations. Read on for the full breakdown, selection criteria, and guidance on choosing a plug that fits your smart-home setup.
Get home appliances delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Matter support separates several leading options: the Tapo P110M and Kasa Matter models suit buyers who want broader smart-home compatibility, while app and hub requirements still deserve a check before buying.
- Pack size changes the value equation: the Tapo P110M, Govee, Emporia, AiSeek, and Kasa Matter options come in four-packs, while the Kasa KP125MP2 and Tapo P115 listings offer two-plug bundles.
- Energy monitoring is not the same as whole-home measurement: these plugs report use at the connected outlet, so they are most useful for checking individual appliances rather than replacing a panel-level monitor.
- Hub-based setups suit a different buyer: the Aqara Zigbee plug can make sense in an established Zigbee home, but it is less straightforward for someone who wants a direct Wi-Fi setup.
- Repeated models call for a close listing check: the lineup includes Tapo P115 two- and four-packs, as well as Kasa Matter two- and four-packs, so compare the exact model and bundle rather than relying on a product-family name.
| smart plugs with energy monitoring | Connectivity | Operating voltage | Model | Pack size |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plugs | Matter, Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) | — | P110M | 4 |
| Govee Smart Plug with Energy M | Wi-Fi and Bluetooth | 120 V AC | H5086 | — |
| Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 110 V AC | P115 | 4 |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | Matter, Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) | 120 V | KP125MP2 | 2 |
| Aqara Zigbee Smart Plug with E | Zigbee | — | ZNCZ12LM | — |
| Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 125 V | P115 | 2 plugs |
| Emporia Energy Monitoring Smar | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 120 V | — | 4 plugs |
| THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3 | — | 110 V | — | 4 plugs |
| AiSeek Smart Plug Outlet with | Wi-Fi and Bluetooth; 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 120 V | — | 4 plugs |
| Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Ener | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 120 V AC | KP115 | — |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | Matter and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 120 V | KP125MP4 | 4 plugs |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plugs with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A
The Tapo P110M is my strongest all-around pick for households that want energy tracking without tying every plug to one smart-home brand. Its Matter compatibility spans Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings, while energy use, bill estimates, and adjustable power thresholds add more insight than basic on/off scheduling. The four-pack also makes it practical to track several appliances at once. Compared with the Kasa KP125MP2, it gives you twice as many plugs in the supplied pack; Kasa, however, specifies local control that can work without internet. The P110M’s main limitation is its 2.4 GHz-only Wi-Fi, so it will not suit homes that rely exclusively on 5 GHz. Choose it for broad platform choice and useful monitoring safeguards, not for a 5 GHz network.
Pros:- Matter compatibility supports several major smart-home platforms
- Energy tracking includes bill estimates and customizable power thresholds
- Four plugs make it easier to monitor multiple appliances
- Compact design leaves neighboring outlets accessible
Cons:- Works with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only
- The supplied product information does not specify offline local control
Best for: Households using a mix of Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, or SmartThings that want to monitor several appliances in one setup.
Not ideal for: Buyers with a 5 GHz-only Wi-Fi network or those who specifically need the offline local-control feature listed for the Kasa KP125MP2.
- Model:P110M
- Pack size:4
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Connectivity:Matter, Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz)
- Compatible platforms:Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Control methods:App, voice, scheduling
- Safety certification:UL certified
Our verdict“Choose the Tapo P110M if you want a four-plug energy-monitoring set with broad Matter platform support and power-threshold features.”
Govee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 4-Pack
The Govee set is a good fit when energy monitoring means more than checking a single consumption total. In the Govee Home app, it reports real-time power, current, and voltage, with historical data available for up to a year. That makes it easier to compare an appliance’s changing draw over time. Like the Tapo P115, it offers a four-pack, scheduling, and voice control; Govee adds current and voltage readings, while the Tapo listing highlights automatic shutoff and compact placement. Its Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connectivity gives setup another connection method, but the app remains necessary for setup and monitoring. It also supports Alexa and Google Assistant rather than the broader Matter platform mix of the Tapo P110M. Skip it if you need 5 GHz Wi-Fi or want monitoring outside Govee’s app.
Pros:- Tracks real-time power, current, and voltage
- Keeps historical energy data for up to one year
- Supports remote, voice, scheduled, and group control
- Includes both Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connectivity
Cons:- Does not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi
- Setup and energy monitoring require the Govee Home app
- Voice assistant support is limited to Alexa and Google Assistant in the provided data
Best for: Alexa or Google Assistant households that want long-term app history and readings for power, current, and voltage across several devices.
Not ideal for: People using 5 GHz-only Wi-Fi, seeking Matter platform support, or wanting energy data outside the Govee Home app.
- Model:H5086
- Pack count:4
- Operating voltage:120 V AC
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- Energy data:Real-time power, current, and voltage; history up to one year
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
- Certifications:ETL, FCC
Our verdict“Pick Govee if detailed electrical readings and a year of app history matter more to you than Matter support or app flexibility.”
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A
The Tapo P115 keeps the essentials together: energy statistics and charts, remote control, schedules, and automatic shutoff, in a compact four-plug set. That combination suits someone who wants to spot usage patterns and automate everyday appliances without needing Matter or advanced electrical readings. Compared with the Govee H5086, the P115 emphasizes a simpler monitoring-and-control feature set; Govee adds real-time current and voltage readings and up to a year of history. The P115’s compact design can also help preserve access to the adjacent outlet, a practical advantage when plugs share a wall plate. Its tradeoffs are a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi requirement and a narrower platform list than the Matter-capable Tapo P110M. Choose this model for basic energy insights and automatic shutoff, not cross-platform Matter flexibility.
Pros:- Energy statistics and charts help reveal usage patterns
- Automatic shutoff and scheduling support simple appliance routines
- Compact design helps keep neighboring outlets usable
- Supports remote and voice control
Cons:- Works with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only
- Does not list Matter compatibility
- The provided features do not include Govee’s current and voltage readings
Best for: Buyers who want charts, scheduling, and automatic shutoff across several household devices, with Alexa, Google Assistant, or SmartThings control.
Not ideal for: Homes that need Matter compatibility, 5 GHz Wi-Fi, or the detailed current-and-voltage readings listed for the Govee H5086.
- Model:P115
- Pack size:4
- Operating voltage:110 V AC
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Control methods:Tapo app, Alexa, Google Assistant, SmartThings
- Energy features:Energy statistics and charts, automatic shutoff
- Certification:ETL
Our verdict“Choose the Tapo P115 for a compact four-pack with practical charts and automatic shutoff, provided Matter support is not a priority.”
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, KP125MP2, 15A/1800W, 2-Pack
The Kasa KP125MP2 stands apart for buyers who value keeping basic smart-plug control available even when the internet is down. Its listed local network control can work without an internet connection, while Matter support connects it with Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings. Energy tracking gives the plug a clear place in this roundup, though the supplied details do not describe bill estimates or electrical readings as deeply as the Tapo P110M or Govee H5086. The main compromise is pack size: this is a two-pack, compared with four plugs in both the Tapo P110M and Govee bundles. It also needs 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. The UL-certified, flame-retardant design and two-year limited warranty add reassurance, but buyers seeking the most plugs per purchase should compare the four-packs instead.
Pros:- Matter support spans Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings
- Local network control can work without an internet connection
- UL-certified flame-retardant design
- Two-year limited warranty
Cons:- Two plugs per pack, fewer than the Tapo P110M and Govee four-packs
- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Provided product details do not specify bill estimates or current and voltage readings
Best for: Matter users who want energy tracking and local smart-plug control that can remain available during an internet outage.
Not ideal for: People who need four plugs at once, use only 5 GHz Wi-Fi, or want specified energy details such as current and voltage readings.
- Model:KP125MP2
- Pack size:2
- Maximum current:15 A
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Connectivity:Matter, Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz)
- Compatible platforms:Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Warranty and safety:2-year limited warranty; UL-certified flame-retardant design
Our verdict“Pick the Kasa KP125MP2 if offline local control and Matter compatibility outweigh getting more plugs in the pack.”
Aqara Zigbee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, Overload Protection
The Aqara plug is the specialist choice here: it uses Zigbee rather than direct Wi-Fi, requires an Aqara Hub, and can also act as a Zigbee mesh repeater. For an existing Aqara setup, that can turn one plug into both an energy-monitoring point and a way to extend the mesh. It tracks real-time power use and supports scheduling, timers, and scenes, with a stated 15 A capacity. By comparison, the Tapo P115 connects over Wi-Fi and does not require the hub described for Aqara, making it easier to consider for a standalone setup. The Aqara’s main costs in convenience are the separate hub requirement and a one-year warranty. Its listed assistant compatibility includes Alexa, Google Assistant, and Apple HomeKit, but buyers should check their hub and platform arrangement before choosing it.
Pros:- Monitors real-time power usage
- Acts as a Zigbee mesh repeater
- Supports appliances up to 15 A
- Offers scheduling, timers, and scenes through Aqara Home
Cons:- Requires an Aqara Hub sold separately
- Hub-dependent setup is less direct than the Wi-Fi Tapo P115
- One-year warranty
Best for: Aqara Hub owners who want real-time power monitoring and a plug that can also strengthen their Zigbee mesh.
Not ideal for: Buyers without an Aqara Hub, or anyone who wants a simple Wi-Fi plug setup like the Tapo P115.
- Model:ZNCZ12LM
- Voltage:120 V AC
- Amperage:15 A
- Plug type:Type A
- Connectivity:Zigbee
- Hub requirement:Aqara Hub required; sold separately
- Compatible assistants:Alexa, Google Assistant, Apple HomeKit
- Additional function:Zigbee mesh repeater
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Choose the Aqara plug if you already own an Aqara Hub and want energy monitoring that also helps extend your Zigbee mesh.”
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 2-Pack, 15A
The Tapo P115 2-Pack is a strong fit if monitoring is only part of the job: its app also offers usage charts, estimated electricity costs, schedules, charging limits, and automatic shutoff. Those controls make it easier to act on energy data—for example, setting a limit for a device that should not stay powered indefinitely. Compared with the four-plug Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plug pack, Tapo supplies fewer outlets but lists a higher maximum load of 1800 W and more explicit charging controls. Its compact shape is designed to leave neighboring sockets clear, useful where outlet space is tight. The main compromise is 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only; it will not suit a setup that relies on 5 GHz Wi-Fi. Choose it for two devices where detailed app controls matter more than pack size.
Pros:- App provides energy statistics, charts, and estimated electricity costs
- Charging limits and automatic shutoff add practical control beyond basic scheduling
- Rated for up to 1800 W
- Compact design is made to avoid blocking neighboring outlets
Cons:- Only supports 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Two plugs provide less multi-room coverage than the Emporia four-pack
Best for: People who want energy statistics and automated charging limits for two household appliances
Not ideal for: Buyers outfitting several rooms at once or using a 5 GHz-only Wi-Fi network
- Model:P115
- Pack size:2 plugs
- Operating voltage:125 V
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Voice assistants:Alexa, Google Assistant
- Materials:Polycarbonate; copper and brass contacts
- Certifications:ETL, FCC, RoHS
Our verdict“Choose the Tapo P115 two-pack if you want detailed energy tracking and charging controls for a couple of devices, and do not need 5 GHz Wi-Fi.”
Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plug (4 Pack) – WiFi Outlet Works with Alexa & Google Home, 15A Peak, Timer & App Scheduling, 2.4GHz Only
The Emporia four-pack puts energy tracking within reach of more appliances at once, making it the clearest choice here for someone building coverage across several rooms. Its app reports real-time energy use and supports remote control and schedules, so a buyer can watch standby consumption and set devices to switch off at chosen times. Compared with the Tapo P115 two-pack, Emporia provides twice as many plugs, but its listed continuous capacity is 10 A (1200 W), despite a 15 A peak rating. That makes load limits worth checking before connecting higher-draw appliances. It also depends on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, like Tapo, and does not offer the Tapo’s stated charging-limit feature. I’d pick Emporia for broad, everyday appliance monitoring rather than specialized charging automation.
Pros:- Four-plug pack covers more devices than the Tapo P115 two-pack
- Real-time energy readings help identify standby consumption
- App supports scheduling and remote control
- Works with Alexa and Google Assistant
Cons:- Listed continuous capacity is 10 A, or 1200 W
- Only supports 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- One-year warranty is shorter than the two-year warranty listed for the Kasa KP115
Best for: Households wanting to monitor and schedule several lower-draw appliances across multiple rooms
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a 15 A continuous load rating, a 5 GHz-only network, or charging-limit controls
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Continuous capacity:10 A; 1200 W
- Peak current:15 A
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Compatible assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
- Dimensions:1.97 x 3.31 x 1.5 inches
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Pick Emporia to monitor several everyday appliances at once, provided their continuous power draw stays within its 10 A limit.”
THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3, 4-Pack
The THIRDREALITY Gen3 four-pack suits buyers whose smart home already runs on Zigbee and who want energy readings without adding another Wi-Fi device to the network. Its stated ±1% monitoring accuracy gives it a specific appeal for people who care about the precision of reported power use, while the plugs can also extend a Zigbee mesh. Unlike the Wi-Fi-based Emporia four-pack, these require a compatible hub; that extra dependency can be a sensible fit in a Home Assistant, SmartThings, or Hubitat setup, but a hurdle for someone starting from scratch. The plugs offer on-off operation rather than broader device control, and restoration of power-on status works only on select platforms. I’d choose them for an established Zigbee system, not as the simplest standalone monitoring option.
Pros:- Four plugs add monitoring points and can extend Zigbee mesh coverage
- States ±1% power-monitoring accuracy
- Compatible with platforms including Home Assistant, SmartThings, and Hubitat
- Compact design is intended not to block adjacent sockets
Cons:- Requires a compatible Zigbee hub, unlike Wi-Fi options such as the Emporia plug
- Power-on status restoration is supported only on select platforms
- Operation is limited to on-off control
Best for: Smart-home owners with a compatible Zigbee hub who want energy monitoring and mesh coverage from the same plugs
Not ideal for: Beginners without a Zigbee hub or buyers who want Wi-Fi setup and broad power-restoration support
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Connectivity protocol:Zigbee 3.0
- Operating voltage:110 V
- Monitoring accuracy:±1%
- Operation mode:On-off
- Compatible platforms:Home Assistant, SmartThings, Hubitat, compatible Echo devices, and other Zigbee hubs
- Mounting type:Plug-in
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Choose THIRDREALITY if you already have a Zigbee hub and value stated monitoring accuracy and mesh extension over hub-free setup.”
AiSeek Smart Plug Outlet with Energy Monitoring, 15A 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, 4-Pack
The AiSeek four-pack combines real-time energy tracking with timers, schedules, and group control, so it fits buyers who want several appliances to follow a shared routine. Its listed 1800 W capacity exceeds Emporia’s 1200 W continuous rating, though buyers should still match each appliance to the plug’s load limits. AiSeek also supports Alexa and Google Assistant, but setup begins in the SmartLife app; it does not pair directly with Alexa. That extra app step separates it from the simpler setup described for the Kasa KP115. Wi-Fi is limited to 2.4 GHz, although Bluetooth is also listed as a connectivity protocol. Overload and short-circuit protection add reassurance, but the product data does not specify monitoring accuracy or cost estimates. I’d favor it for coordinated schedules, not for buyers seeking the most detailed energy reporting.
Pros:- Four plugs support monitoring multiple devices
- Group control, timers, and schedules help coordinate appliance routines
- Listed 1800 W power capacity is higher than Emporia’s stated 1200 W continuous capacity
- ETL listing and overload and short-circuit protection are specified
Cons:- SmartLife app is required for initial setup, with no direct Alexa pairing
- Wi-Fi connection is limited to 2.4 GHz
- Product data does not state monitoring accuracy or electricity-cost estimates
Best for: Buyers who want to monitor several devices and run them on shared schedules or timers
Not ideal for: People who want direct Alexa setup, a 5 GHz-only Wi-Fi connection, or stated monitoring-accuracy figures
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Power capacity:1800 W
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth; 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Control methods:App, push button, voice
- Compatible assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
- Dimensions:1.4 x 2.8 x 2 inches
- Certification:ETL Listed, FCC Certified
Our verdict“Choose AiSeek if group scheduling across four monitored devices matters more than direct Alexa setup or detailed monitoring specifications.”
Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Energy Monitoring (KP115)
The Kasa KP115 is the single-plug pick for a tight outlet area or a buyer who wants to monitor one appliance before expanding. It combines real-time energy monitoring with app and voice control, while its compact mini form is intended to leave nearby sockets usable. Compared with the Tapo P115 two-pack, it gives up the option to monitor two devices from one purchase and does not list charging limits or estimated electricity costs. In return, Kasa specifies a useful set of safeguards: overheating protection, a fire-proof shell, and a child-proof sliding cover, alongside a two-year warranty. It still requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, so it is not a fit for a 5 GHz-only network. I’d choose it for a single lamp, fan, or humidifier where compactness and safety details matter more than pack size.
Pros:- Compact mini design fits tight outlet spaces
- Real-time energy monitoring pairs with app and voice control
- Lists overheating protection, a fire-proof shell, and a child-proof sliding cover
- Two-year warranty
Cons:- Single plug provides less coverage than the Tapo P115 two-pack
- Only supports 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- No USB port or additional outlets
Best for: People who want to monitor one appliance in a crowded outlet area and value specified safety features
Not ideal for: Buyers monitoring several appliances at once or using a 5 GHz-only Wi-Fi network
- Model:KP115
- Operating voltage:120 V AC
- Wattage:1800 W
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Voice compatibility:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT, Vera
- Safety features:Overheating protection, fire-proof shell, child-proof sliding cover
- Dimensions:2.62 x 1.57 x 1.5 inches
- Warranty:2 years
Our verdict“Choose the Kasa KP115 for one monitored device where compact placement and its listed safety features are priorities.”
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack
I’d pick this four-pack for a home where people use different smart-home platforms but still want to track the energy use of connected devices. Matter compatibility brings Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings support together, while local network control can keep app or voice operation available if internet service drops. That makes it more flexible than the Govee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, which lists Wi-Fi and Bluetooth rather than Matter. Each plug is rated for 15 A and 1800 W, so it suits many everyday appliances, but not higher-load equipment beyond those limits. The four-plug set is useful for monitoring several devices around the home; buyers who need just two outlets may prefer Kasa’s KP125MP2 two-pack. It also requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, so check your network setup before choosing it.
Pros:- Matter support works across Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings.
- Energy monitoring helps track the consumption of connected devices.
- Local network control can remain available when internet service is unavailable.
- Compact, UL-certified flame-retardant design and a two-year limited warranty.
Cons:- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection.
- The 15 A and 1800 W maximums rule out loads above those ratings.
- A four-pack may be more than needed for buyers seeking only one or two monitored outlets.
Best for: Households using a mix of Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, or SmartThings that want energy monitoring across several everyday devices.
Not ideal for: Buyers with only a 5 GHz Wi-Fi network, or anyone needing a plug for equipment that exceeds 15 A or 1800 W.
- Model:KP125MP4
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum load:15 A; 1800 W
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Connectivity:Matter and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Compatible platforms:Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings
- Control:App, voice, on/off; local network control
- Design:Compact, UL-certified flame-retardant construction
- Warranty:Two-year limited
Our verdict“Choose this Kasa four-pack if you want Matter-based energy monitoring across multiple smart-home platforms and your devices stay within its 15 A, 1800 W limit.”

How We Picked
I ranked these smart plugs with energy monitoring by how well their stated features serve common buying goals: tracking an appliance at the outlet, controlling it remotely, and fitting into an existing smart-home system. I gave added weight to clearly specified electrical ratings, protocol support, useful scheduling or app controls, and the practical implications of pack size. A plug with Matter or familiar Wi-Fi control can be easier to place in a mixed-device home; a Zigbee model may be a better match when a compatible hub is already part of the setup.
The order reflects versatility and ease of choosing, not a claim that every model delivers identical readings or app features. I placed broadly compatible, clearly specified options ahead of models whose appeal depends more heavily on one ecosystem or an existing hub. Multi-packs rank well when they offer a useful way to monitor several appliances, but bundles do not outrank a better ecosystem fit by default. I also weighed tradeoffs: 2.4GHz-only Wi-Fi, hub requirements, and differences between model listings can narrow the right audience.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Smart Plugs With Energy Monitoring
Choosing a plug involves more than finding an energy graph in an app. I would start with the appliance and smart-home system you already have, then decide what you want the readings to tell you and how often you will act on them.
Match the plug’s rating to the appliance
Check the plug’s stated current and wattage limits against the appliance label, not just the product category. The 15A models in this roundup are specified for loads up to that rating, but the appliance’s startup behavior and the manufacturer’s instructions still matter. Avoid using a smart plug for equipment that should not be switched off remotely or that calls for a dedicated, hardwired connection. A plug’s overload protection, where specified, is an added feature rather than a reason to ignore the electrical rating. When in doubt, choose a control method approved for that appliance instead of treating a smart plug as a universal switch.
Choose a protocol that fits your home
Matter, Wi-Fi, and Zigbee solve different compatibility problems. Matter can help devices work across supported smart-home platforms, but confirm that your controller and the exact plug model support the functions you want. Wi-Fi plugs avoid a separate Zigbee hub, though they depend on a compatible network and may require 2.4GHz Wi-Fi. A Zigbee plug can be a sensible addition to a home that already has the right hub, but the hub adds setup and maintenance. Do not buy on protocol labels alone: check platform support, local-control behavior, and whether energy readings appear in the app or ecosystem you plan to use.
Decide what energy data you will use
Outlet-level monitoring is most useful when you have a clear question, such as how much a dehumidifier uses or whether a rarely used appliance draws power while idle. Check whether the app offers the measurement and history you need, such as current use, accumulated consumption, or cost estimates. Cost figures depend on the electricity rate entered and may not match a utility bill that includes time-based rates or fees. Do not assume that every plug stores the same history or supports the same export and alert features. If you only need to switch a lamp on a schedule, energy monitoring may add little value; for comparing appliance use, it can be a more meaningful feature.
Buy the right number of plugs, not the biggest pack
Multi-packs make sense when several appliances need separate measurements, but unused plugs do not improve the value of the setup. List the outlets you plan to monitor and check whether the plugs will fit beside neighboring plugs, power strips, or furniture. A compact design can matter more than the number in the box when outlets are close together. Also check that the same model and bundle are being compared: this roundup includes both two- and four-pack listings for some product families. For a first test, a smaller bundle can help you learn whether the app’s data and controls are useful before you equip more rooms.
Treat schedules and automation as part of the decision
Scheduling can reduce repetitive control, but it does not automatically reduce electricity use. A timer is useful when an appliance has a predictable routine; app or voice control may suit occasional use better. Before buying, check whether automations depend on the plug’s cloud connection, a hub, or another platform device. Consider what happens after a power or network outage and whether the appliance restarts safely when power returns. If energy alerts or automation triggers matter to you, confirm that the exact model supports them rather than assuming every monitoring plug offers the same controls.
Separate useful protections from marketing shorthand
Terms such as overload protection describe a particular safety feature, not a guarantee that every connected device is suitable. Read the product’s instructions for supported loads, indoor use, and placement, and keep plugs clear of heat and moisture unless the manufacturer states otherwise. Energy readings are measurements at one outlet, not a whole-home safety monitor or a substitute for electrical inspection. If you want to spot an appliance drawing unusual power, consider how frequently the app updates and whether it can notify you. A simpler plug may be enough for routine scheduling, while monitoring and alerts matter more when you plan to review usage regularly.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will these plugs work if my Wi-Fi network uses only 5GHz?
Several Wi-Fi smart plugs in this roundup specify 2.4GHz Wi-Fi, including the Emporia and AiSeek listings. A 5GHz-only network may prevent setup, so check whether your router can enable a 2.4GHz band or a combined network that supports both frequencies. Matter support does not remove the need to check the plug’s connection requirements. The Aqara option uses Zigbee, so it relies on a compatible hub rather than a direct Wi-Fi connection. Confirm the requirements for the exact model before ordering, especially if your router hides or disables its 2.4GHz network.
Do I need a hub to use energy monitoring?
Not for every model. The Wi-Fi plugs are intended to connect through a compatible wireless network, while the Aqara Zigbee plug requires a compatible Zigbee setup to communicate with your smart home. Matter devices also need a supported controller or platform for Matter-based control, even if the plug does not require a dedicated brand-specific hub. The energy display may live in the manufacturer’s app rather than the platform you use for automations. Check both control compatibility and where the energy data appears before choosing.
Can I use one of these plugs to find out whether an appliance is worth replacing?
A plug can help you track the connected appliance’s energy use over time, which can inform a replacement decision. The estimate is only as useful as the measurement history and the rate assumptions in the app, so compare consumption over a representative period and account for how often the appliance runs. A plug’s reading does not include every household cost or explain why an appliance uses a particular amount. For major purchases, compare the observed use with the replacement’s published consumption and your utility’s billing terms. Treat the result as one input, not a definitive energy audit.
Should I choose a four-pack or start with a two-pack?
Choose a four-pack if you already know which several appliances you want to monitor and the plugs fit your outlets. The lineup includes four-plug bundles from Tapo, Govee, Emporia, AiSeek, and Kasa, while the Tapo P115 and Kasa KP125MP2 listings also offer two-plug options. A smaller bundle is a sensible first step if you have not used outlet-level energy data before or want to check app compatibility. Compare the exact model, since pack size and product-family names can be easy to confuse. Buying more plugs only helps when you have a clear use for each one.
Can I trust a plug’s energy readings as an exact electricity bill?
No outlet-level reading should be treated as an exact bill. The plug measures use at the connected device, while a utility bill may include changing rates, delivery charges, taxes, and other adjustments. App cost estimates can also depend on the rate information you enter and how often the app records data. Use readings to compare patterns or identify approximate consumption, and check your utility statement for actual charges. If precise billing analysis is your main goal, look for a monitoring setup designed to account for your utility’s rate structure.
Conclusion
For most buyers, I recommend the Tapo P110M as the best overall choice because its stated 15A rating, energy monitoring, and Matter support combine broad usefulness with a clear role in this lineup. For best value across several outlets, compare the Govee four-pack with the other bundles based on the app and network setup you prefer; the Emporia and AiSeek packs are alternatives when their listed controls and 2.4GHz requirements fit your needs. Buyers who want a two-plug Matter bundle can look to the Kasa KP125MP2, while the Kasa Matter four-pack is a better fit for covering more outlets in a compatible setup. For beginners, I would start with a small Wi-Fi bundle such as the Tapo P115 two-pack rather than buying more plugs than needed. For a specific Zigbee home, the Aqara plug makes the most sense if you already have a compatible hub; otherwise, choose a direct Wi-Fi or supported Matter option. My final check would be the exact model, pack size, electrical rating, and the app or hub needed to access its energy data.
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.














