For most buyers, I’d start with the Tapo P115 4-Pack: it pairs 15A capacity and energy monitoring with a four-plug bundle. The Kasa KP115 is a strong fit if you prefer Kasa’s established app lineup, while the Kasa KP125MP4 and Tapo P110M stand out for Matter support. The main tradeoffs are app and ecosystem fit, whether you need Matter, and how many outlets you want to monitor at once. Pack size can change the value of a setup, but it does not tell you how useful the energy data will be for your habits. Read on for how the eleven options differ and which buyer each one suits.
Get home appliances delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Tapo P115 4-Pack leads this comparison for buyers who want 15A monitoring across several outlets in one bundle.
- Kasa KP115 offers a focused alternative for shoppers who want energy monitoring within the Kasa product family and do not need Matter.
- Kasa KP125MP4, Kasa KP125MP2, Tapo P110M, and SONOFF S61s make Matter support a clear dividing line for buyers building across ecosystems.
- The two Tapo P115 bundles share the same model, so the meaningful choice is how many plugs you need now, not a different monitoring feature set.
- The Emporia and Govee multipacks broaden the field beyond Tapo and Kasa, while the less-specific Pro and Smart Plug Outlet listings call for closer checking of app, platform, and data details.
| Tapo Smart Plug Wi-Fi, Energy Monitoring, P115 (4-Pack), 15A | ![]() | Best for Monitoring Several Devices | Pack size: 4 plugs | Maximum current: 15A | Energy monitoring: Yes, with cost estimation | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Energy Monitoring, KP115 | ![]() | Best for Simple Energy Checks | Model: KP115 | Energy monitoring: Yes | Connectivity: 2.4GHz Wi-Fi | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, KP125MP4, 15A/1800W Max | ![]() | Best for Matter Smart Homes | Model: KP125MP4 | Maximum current: 15A | Maximum power: 1800W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Tapo Smart Plug Wi-Fi, Energy Monitoring, P115 (2-Pack), 15A | ![]() | Best Starter Bundle | Pack size: 2 plugs | Maximum current: 15A | Energy monitoring: Yes, with cost estimates | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| SONOFF S61s Matter Smart Plug 15A Wi-Fi Outlet with Energy Monitoring (4 Pack) | ![]() | Best for Matter Coverage Across Rooms | Pack size: 4 plugs | Maximum current: 15A | Wattage: 1875W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Govee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring (4 Pack) | ![]() | Best for Bluetooth Setup Flexibility | Connectivity: Wi-Fi and Bluetooth | Voice control: Alexa and Google Assistant | Energy monitoring: Yes | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plug, WiFi Smart Outlet with Timer and Home Energy Monitor – 4 Pack | ![]() | Best for Lower-Load Monitoring | Operation mode: ON-OFF | Operating voltage: 120V | Continuous load: 10A | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Pro Energy Monitoring Smart Plug Outlet, 15A, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for High-Capacity Loads | Operating voltage: 120V | Maximum load: 15A / 1800W | Connectivity: Wi-Fi and Bluetooth | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Smart Plug Outlet with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for SmartLife App Users | Power capacity: 1800W / 15A | Connectivity: 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | Units: 4 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Tapo Smart Plug, Matter Compatible, Energy Monitoring, P110M (4-Pack), 15A | ![]() | Best for Multi-Platform Homes | Compatibility: Matter, Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings | Units: 4 | Maximum current: 15A | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, KP125MP2, 15A/1800W Max | ![]() | Best for Matter Smart Home Flexibility | Model: KP125MP2 | Maximum power: 1800W | Maximum current: 15A | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| smart plugs with energy monitoring | Energy monitoring | Maximum current | Connectivity |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tapo Smart Plug Wi-Fi | Yes, with cost estimation | 15A | Wi-Fi |
| Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Ener | Yes | — | 2.4GHz Wi-Fi |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | — | 15A | — |
| Tapo Smart Plug Wi-Fi | Yes, with cost estimates | 15A | Wi-Fi |
| SONOFF S61s Matter Smart Plug | Real-time | 15A | — |
| Govee Smart Plug with Energy M | Yes | 15A | Wi-Fi and Bluetooth |
| Emporia Energy Monitoring Smar | — | — | Wi-Fi |
| Pro Energy Monitoring Smart Pl | — | — | Wi-Fi and Bluetooth |
| Smart Plug Outlet with Energy | Yes | — | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi |
| Tapo Smart Plug | Yes | 15A | — |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | Yes | 15A | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Tapo Smart Plug Wi-Fi, Energy Monitoring, P115 (4-Pack), 15A
The Tapo P115 4-pack is a practical choice when energy tracking needs to cover several appliances at once. Its usage tracking and cost estimates, paired with schedules and auto-shutoff, can help you spot devices that draw power when they do not need to run. Compared with the Kasa KP125 Matter plug, it offers a four-plug bundle but the supplied details list Alexa and Google Assistant rather than broad Matter platform support. That makes it a better fit for households already using those assistants than for people building around Apple Home or SmartThings. The tradeoff is a 15A ceiling and reliance on Wi-Fi for full functionality; check an appliance’s load before connecting it. Choose it when you want energy visibility across multiple everyday devices with straightforward app and voice control.
Pros:- Four plugs let you monitor multiple devices from one bundle.
- Energy tracking includes cost estimation.
- Scheduling and auto-shutoff support routine power management.
- Works with Alexa and Google Assistant voice control.
Cons:- Full functionality depends on a Wi-Fi connection.
- The listed maximum current is 15A.
- The supplied details do not list Matter or compatibility beyond Alexa and Google Assistant.
Best for: Households using Alexa or Google Assistant that want to monitor and schedule several everyday appliances.
Not ideal for: Smart home owners who need Matter or Apple Home compatibility, or buyers monitoring equipment that exceeds 15A.
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum current:15A
- Energy monitoring:Yes, with cost estimation
- Scheduling:Programmable
- Auto-shutoff:Yes
- Voice control:Alexa and Google Assistant
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi
Our verdict“Pick this four-pack if you want to track and schedule several Alexa or Google Assistant devices, and do not need listed Matter support.”
Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Energy Monitoring, KP115
The Kasa KP115 suits buyers who want to see a device’s energy use and switch it remotely without taking on a broader smart home setup. It connects over 2.4GHz Wi-Fi and supports Alexa and Google Assistant, while its listed overheating protection and fireproof shell add household safety features. Compared with the Tapo P115 2-pack, the KP115’s supplied details do not mention scheduling or auto-shutoff, so it is less suited to automating power routines. Its appeal is simpler: check consumption, use the app or voice control, and leave the plug’s operation straightforward. The tradeoff is that buyers looking to actively manage usage with timers may prefer the Tapo, and anyone without a 2.4GHz network should look elsewhere. The data also does not specify its maximum current.
Pros:- Energy monitoring is included.
- Remote app control and Alexa or Google Assistant voice control are supported.
- Overheating protection and a fireproof shell are listed.
- Two-year warranty is specified.
Cons:- Requires a 2.4GHz Wi-Fi network.
- The supplied details do not list scheduling or timer features.
- Maximum current is not specified in the provided product data.
Best for: Alexa or Google Assistant users who want app-based energy visibility and remote switching for a single household device.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need scheduling, auto-shutoff, Matter integration, or a stated maximum load before choosing a plug.
- Model:KP115
- Energy monitoring:Yes
- Connectivity:2.4GHz Wi-Fi
- Voice compatibility:Alexa and Google Assistant
- Control:Smartphone app and voice
- Safety features:Overheating protection, fireproof shell, sliding safety cover
- Warranty:2 years
Our verdict“Choose the KP115 for straightforward energy checks and remote control, but select the Tapo P115 if scheduling and auto-shutoff matter.”
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, KP125MP4, 15A/1800W Max
The Kasa KP125MP4 is the clearest fit here for buyers who want energy monitoring inside a mixed-brand smart home. Its Matter compatibility spans Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings, and local LAN control means the plug can remain controllable on the local network if internet access drops. That platform breadth sets it apart from the Tapo P115 4-pack, whose supplied compatibility is limited to Alexa and Google Assistant. The Kasa’s compact shape can also leave a neighboring outlet accessible, useful when a power strip or second plug is nearby. The tradeoff is setup through compatible platforms and apps, plus a firm 15A/1800W maximum. Compared with the SONOFF S61s Matter 4-pack, this listing provides clearer power and compact-design specifications, while the SONOFF offers four plugs in one bundle.
Pros:- Matter support covers Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings.
- Local LAN control can keep operation available without internet access.
- Energy monitoring helps track connected devices’ consumption.
- Compact design is intended to avoid blocking an adjacent outlet.
Cons:- Requires setup through compatible smart home platforms and apps.
- Maximum capacity is limited to 15A and 1800W.
- The listed warranty is limited to two years.
Best for: Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, or SmartThings households that want cross-platform energy monitoring and local network control.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want a multi-plug bundle or need to operate loads above 15A or 1800W.
- Model:KP125MP4
- Maximum current:15A
- Maximum power:1800W
- Compatibility:Matter, Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Control:App and voice
- Local control:LAN control
- Design:Compact, flame retardant
- Warranty:2-year limited
Our verdict“Choose the KP125MP4 if broad Matter platform support and local control matter more than getting four plugs in one bundle.”
Tapo Smart Plug Wi-Fi, Energy Monitoring, P115 (2-Pack), 15A
The Tapo P115 2-pack is a sensible starting point for buyers who want energy monitoring on a couple of appliances without committing to a larger set. It pairs usage statistics and cost estimates with scheduling and auto-shutoff, so it can help manage when devices draw power as well as show how much they use. Compared with the Tapo P115 4-pack, it covers fewer outlets but keeps the same listed 15A limit and core features; the smaller set suits a focused setup such as a desk and a media area. It also has a practical advantage over the Kasa KP115 in the supplied data: Tapo explicitly lists schedules and shutoff. The tradeoff is Wi-Fi dependence and compatibility listed only for Alexa and Google Assistant, which makes it a weaker match for Matter-based homes.
Pros:- Two plugs suit a small, focused energy-monitoring setup.
- Energy usage statistics include cost estimates.
- Scheduling and auto-shutoff support automated power management.
- App, Wi-Fi, and voice control are listed.
Cons:- Full functionality requires Wi-Fi.
- Maximum current is limited to 15A.
- The supplied compatibility details name Alexa and Google Assistant, not Matter.
Best for: First-time smart plug buyers who want to monitor and automate two appliances through Alexa or Google Assistant.
Not ideal for: People equipping many rooms at once, using Matter or Apple Home, or connecting loads above 15A.
- Pack size:2 plugs
- Maximum current:15A
- Energy monitoring:Yes, with cost estimates
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi
- Control:App and voice
- Compatibility:Alexa and Google Assistant
- Scheduling:Programmable
- Auto-shutoff:Yes
Our verdict“Start with this two-pack if you want Tapo’s monitoring and scheduling features for a small number of Alexa or Google Assistant devices.”
SONOFF S61s Matter Smart Plug 15A Wi-Fi Outlet with Energy Monitoring (4 Pack)
The SONOFF S61s four-pack combines energy monitoring with Matter support for buyers who want to extend a compatible smart home across several outlets. It is listed for Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings, putting it in the same broad-platform category as the Kasa KP125MP4. SONOFF specifies real-time energy monitoring, overload protection, and setup without a hub, which can make it a practical multi-room option. Its listed 1875W capacity is slightly higher than the Kasa KP125MP4’s 1800W maximum, though both are rated at 15A. The tradeoffs are indoor-only use and a requirement for 2.4GHz Wi-Fi. The supplied data also does not identify scheduling features, so buyers who want automated routines alongside monitoring may find the Tapo P115 more clearly suited to that job.
Pros:- Four plugs support monitoring across several rooms.
- Matter compatibility lists Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings.
- Real-time energy monitoring and overload protection are specified.
- Hub-free setup and a 15A, 1875W capacity are listed.
Cons:- Requires a 2.4GHz Wi-Fi network.
- The supplied data limits use to indoors.
- Scheduling is not specified in the provided product details.
Best for: Matter households that want energy monitoring on several indoor appliances and do not need a hub.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need outdoor use, scheduling features, or operation without 2.4GHz Wi-Fi.
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum current:15A
- Wattage:1875W
- Operating voltage:120V
- Connectivity protocol:Matter over Wi-Fi
- Compatible platforms:Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings
- Energy monitoring:Real-time
- Protection and setup:Overload protection; no hub required
Our verdict“Choose the SONOFF S61s if you want a four-plug Matter set with real-time monitoring for indoor devices.”
Govee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring (4 Pack)
I’d put the Govee Smart Plug on the list for buyers who want a four-plug set with both Wi-Fi and Bluetooth. Energy monitoring, schedules, and group control give me several ways to track and manage appliances, while Alexa and Google Assistant support keeps voice control familiar. Compared with the Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plug, Govee supports a higher stated current limit, which gives buyers more headroom for compatible loads. Its fire-resistant materials and ETL listing add useful safety details. The tradeoff is that Bluetooth does not remove the need for app setup or Wi-Fi for connected features, and the plugs are limited to 120V and do not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi. I’d choose it for flexible setup options, but skip it if your network or appliances need different specifications.
Pros:- Energy monitoring provides appliance usage information
- Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connectivity
- Works with Alexa and Google Assistant
- Supports schedules and group control
Cons:- Does not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi
- Limited to 120V outlets
- Requires app setup and a Wi-Fi connection for connected features
Best for: Households that want four monitored plugs, Alexa or Google control, and Bluetooth alongside Wi-Fi
Not ideal for: Buyers with 5 GHz-only Wi-Fi or appliances that require a voltage other than 120V
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- Voice control:Alexa and Google Assistant
- Energy monitoring:Yes
- Units:4
- Maximum current:15A
- Voltage:120V
- Safety certifications:FCC, ETL
Our verdict“Choose Govee if you want four energy-monitoring plugs with both Bluetooth and Wi-Fi setup options and your network uses 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.”
Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plug, WiFi Smart Outlet with Timer and Home Energy Monitor – 4 Pack
The Emporia four-pack suits buyers who want app-based energy monitoring and scheduling for devices within its 10A continuous-load limit. That lower ceiling sets it apart from the 15A Govee and Pro plugs in this roundup: it can fit smaller compatible appliances, but leaves less room for higher-draw equipment. I’d keep that limit front and center when choosing what to connect. Alexa and Google Assistant support adds voice control, and the app provides remote switching without requiring a hub in the supplied details. Compared with the Govee Smart Plug, Emporia’s listed specs spell out its 1200W capacity, while Govee offers Bluetooth in addition to Wi-Fi. Emporia’s 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi requirement and narrower load rating make it a more particular fit, even with four plugs in the pack.
Pros:- Energy monitoring and remote app control
- Scheduling for connected devices
- Compatible with Alexa and Google Assistant
- Four plugs included
Cons:- 10A continuous load limit is lower than the 15A Govee and Pro plugs
- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Limited to 120V outlets and 1200W
Best for: Buyers monitoring several smaller 120V appliances who can keep each connected load within 10A continuous
Not ideal for: People who need 15A capacity or whose home Wi-Fi network only offers 5 GHz
- Operation mode:ON-OFF
- Operating voltage:120V
- Continuous load:10A
- Wattage:1200W
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi
- Controller compatibility:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, Android, iOS
- Units:4
- Temperature range:14°F to 140°F
Our verdict“Pick Emporia for monitoring and scheduling several lower-load 120V devices, provided its 10A limit fits each appliance.”
Pro Energy Monitoring Smart Plug Outlet, 15A, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, 4-Pack
I’d consider the Pro Energy Monitoring Smart Plug when the connected appliance needs the full 15A / 1800W rating stated in its product data. It combines real-time monitoring with app, push-button, and voice control, plus scheduling and overload protection. That makes it a more clearly specified high-capacity option than the Emporia plug, whose listed continuous load is 10A. Bluetooth is also listed alongside Wi-Fi, although the stated network requirement is 2.4 GHz. The tradeoffs are straightforward: 15A is still a hard ceiling, and the product information names Alexa and Google Assistant but gives less detail about broader platform support than the Matter-compatible Tapo P110M. I’d favor Pro for its stated wattage and control options, while buyers seeking ecosystem flexibility should compare Tapo.
Pros:- Real-time energy monitoring and scheduling
- 15A / 1800W stated capacity
- App, push-button, and voice control
- Overload protection and no hub required
Cons:- Maximum load is limited to 15A
- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network
- Listed voice compatibility is limited to Alexa and Google Assistant
Best for: Households that want four monitored 120V plugs rated up to 15A/1800W, with app and voice controls
Not ideal for: Buyers who need support for 5 GHz-only Wi-Fi or broader smart-home platform details
- Operating voltage:120V
- Maximum load:15A / 1800W
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- Wi-Fi band:2.4 GHz
- Control methods:App, push button, voice
- Voice compatibility:Alexa and Google Assistant
- Units:4
- Features:Energy monitoring, scheduling, overload protection
Our verdict“Choose Pro if you need a four-pack with a stated 15A/1800W capacity and monitoring, scheduling, and voice control.”
Smart Plug Outlet with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 4-Pack
This SmartLife four-pack is aimed at buyers who already manage devices through the SmartLife app and want energy monitoring, schedules, and remote control in the same place. Its 15A/1800W capacity matches the stated limit of the Pro plug, while the listed FCC certification and compact design speak to a straightforward home setup. The main distinction is the control path: this model requires the SmartLife app for Alexa integration, whereas the Govee Smart Plug lists Alexa and Google Assistant compatibility without that specific caveat. I’d treat the app dependency as a real part of the buying decision, especially if you want a direct voice-assistant setup. It also requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. That makes it a sensible fit for SmartLife households, but a weaker match for people trying to minimize app dependencies.
Pros:- Energy monitoring with scheduling and remote control
- 15A / 1800W stated capacity
- Works with Alexa and Google Assistant through SmartLife
- Four plugs with a compact design
Cons:- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Alexa connection requires the SmartLife app
- Automation depends on the app and supported voice assistants
Best for: SmartLife app users who want four compact 15A plugs for monitoring and automating compatible appliances
Not ideal for: Buyers who want direct Alexa setup without SmartLife or who use only 5 GHz Wi-Fi
- Power capacity:1800W / 15A
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Units:4
- Energy monitoring:Yes
- Control app:SmartLife
- Voice compatibility:Alexa and Google Assistant
- Certification:FCC
- Design:Compact
Our verdict“Choose this set if SmartLife is already part of your home setup and you’re comfortable routing Alexa control through its app.”
Tapo Smart Plug, Matter Compatible, Energy Monitoring, P110M (4-Pack), 15A
The Tapo P110M earns its place for buyers who want energy monitoring across a home that spans several smart-home platforms. Its Matter compatibility and stated support for Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, and Samsung SmartThings give it a broader ecosystem fit than the SmartLife-dependent plug in this batch. I’d favor Tapo when platform choice matters as much as tracking usage. Scheduling, remote control, and overcharge prevention add practical controls around the monitoring data. Its 15A rating aligns with the Pro and SmartLife plugs, so it does not offer a higher stated load ceiling. The tradeoff is setup: buyers need a compatible ecosystem to access the full platform flexibility, and those who want a minimal app-based setup may find this less direct than the Govee Smart Plug, which focuses on Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and two voice assistants.
Pros:- Matter compatibility across several major smart-home platforms
- Energy monitoring with detailed consumption insights
- Scheduling and remote control
- Overcharge prevention
Cons:- Full platform functionality depends on a compatible smart-home ecosystem
- May take more setup for buyers unfamiliar with smart-home platforms
- 15A is the maximum stated current
Best for: Households using Matter alongside Apple HomeKit, Alexa, Google Home, or SmartThings that want four monitored plugs
Not ideal for: Buyers without a compatible smart-home platform or those seeking a particularly simple setup
- Compatibility:Matter, Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Units:4
- Maximum current:15A
- Energy monitoring:Yes
- Scheduling:Yes
- Overcharge prevention:Yes
- Remote control:Tapo app
- Voice control:Supported
Our verdict“Pick Tapo P110M if you want four energy-monitoring plugs that can fit into a Matter-capable, multi-platform smart home.”
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, KP125MP2, 15A/1800W Max
The Kasa KP125MP2 suits households that want energy monitoring across more than one smart home platform. Matter support covers Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings, giving it broader platform flexibility than the Wi-Fi-only Tapo P115. Its energy monitoring can help identify which connected appliances draw power, while voice control makes everyday switching easier. The compact design is useful when outlet space is tight, and the flame-retardant construction adds a practical safety feature. The tradeoff is that Matter still requires setup with a compatible platform, so it may be more involved than a plug used only through its own app. Its 15A/1800W limit also rules it out for loads that exceed those ratings. Choose it for platform choice; skip it if your devices need more capacity.
Pros:- Matter support works with several major smart home platforms.
- Energy monitoring helps track the consumption of connected devices.
- Compact form leaves more room around neighboring outlets.
- Voice control supports hands-free switching.
Cons:- Setup depends on a compatible smart home platform.
- The 15A/1800W maximum load excludes higher-powered equipment.
Best for: Smart home owners who use Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, or SmartThings and want to monitor the energy use of individual plugged-in devices.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want the simplest standalone Wi-Fi setup or need a plug for equipment above 15A or 1800W.
- Model:KP125MP2
- Maximum power:1800W
- Maximum current:15A
- Energy monitoring:Yes
- Compatibility:Matter, Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Design:Compact, flame retardant
- Warranty:2 years
Our verdict“Choose the KP125MP2 if you want energy monitoring with Matter platform flexibility and your connected device stays within its 15A/1800W limit.”

How We Picked
I ranked these plugs around the decisions that shape an energy-monitoring setup: stated electrical capacity, clarity of monitoring features, platform compatibility, app usefulness, and the practicality of each bundle. A plug is more useful when its energy data is easy to find and tied to an app or ecosystem the buyer already uses. I also gave weight to 15A ratings and Matter support because they affect appliance fit and flexibility across smart-home platforms.
The Tapo P115 4-Pack takes the leading position for combining a stated 15A rating, monitoring, and a multi-outlet bundle. The Kasa KP115 and Matter-enabled Kasa and Tapo options follow for buyers prioritizing familiar app ecosystems or cross-platform setup. Emporia, Govee, SONOFF, and the more generically named multipacks offer alternatives, but buyers should compare their exact app, platform, and reporting details before choosing. Where the listing name does not establish a distinct monitoring advantage, I avoid treating the pack count as proof of better performance.
| smart plugs with energy monitoring | Energy monitoring |
|---|---|
| Tapo Smart Plug Wi-Fi | Yes, with cost estimation |
| Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Ener | Yes |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | — |
| Tapo Smart Plug Wi-Fi | Yes, with cost estimates |
| SONOFF S61s Matter Smart Plug | Real-time |
| Govee Smart Plug with Energy M | Yes |
| Emporia Energy Monitoring Smar | — |
| Pro Energy Monitoring Smart Pl | — |
| Smart Plug Outlet with Energy | Yes |
| Tapo Smart Plug | Yes |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | Yes |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Smart Plugs With Energy Monitoring
Energy monitoring is only useful when the plug fits the device, the data answers a real question, and the app is convenient enough to check. I’d settle those points before comparing bundle size or adding plugs throughout the home.
Check the appliance load before connecting it
A 15A rating is a useful starting point, but it does not make every appliance a suitable match for a smart plug. Check the appliance label and the plug’s specifications, including any limits for motor-driven or high-draw equipment. Avoid connecting a device whose load is above the plug’s rating, and follow the manufacturer’s guidance for appliances that draw power in bursts. A plug that works well for a lamp or small household device may be a poor choice for a heater or other demanding load. Monitoring does not replace an appropriately rated outlet or safe use. Choose capacity based on the device you actually plan to measure.
Decide what energy data you need
Some buyers only want to see whether a device is drawing power; others want to compare consumption over time or estimate operating costs. Check the app’s reporting units, history period, export options, and whether it supports cost estimates before buying. A live reading can help identify standby draw, while longer histories are more useful for comparing routines or seasonal changes. Cost estimates depend on entering an accurate electricity rate, and may not reflect time-of-use plans unless the app supports them. Don’t assume that every product labeled for energy monitoring provides the same depth of history. Pick the reporting level that matches the decision you hope to make.
Choose an ecosystem you will keep using
Matter can make setup and control across supported smart-home platforms more flexible, but it does not guarantee that every app will display the same energy information. Before choosing a Matter model, verify which platform features are available for that specific plug and whether energy data appears in the platform you plan to use. A brand app may provide reports that are absent from a voice assistant or hub interface. If you already manage devices through Kasa, Tapo, Govee, Emporia, or SONOFF, staying with that app may simplify routine checks. Consider who else in the household needs access and how many apps they are willing to maintain. The best protocol choice is the one that supports both your controls and your monitoring workflow.
Buy the number of plugs your plan needs
Multipacks can make it easier to monitor several devices, but unused plugs do not improve the quality of your energy data. Start by listing the appliances whose consumption could change a decision, such as whether to replace a device or adjust its schedule. Keep in mind that a smart plug measures the connected device, not the full room or home circuit. A two-pack can suit a focused comparison, while a four-pack works better when several separate outlets are already in scope. Check whether the same product is offered in different bundle sizes, as the model may have identical monitoring features in each. Expand only after the first readings tell you where another plug could help.
Treat scheduling and monitoring as separate jobs
Energy reports show usage; scheduling and automation change when a device runs. A plug may include timers without offering detailed energy history, or provide useful monitoring while relying on another platform for automation. Decide whether you want to measure consumption, switch devices on a schedule, or do both. For appliances that need to retain settings or operate safely without power, confirm how they behave after the plug cuts power and restores it. Avoid automating devices whose manufacturer advises against remote switching. Clear priorities help prevent paying attention to a feature that will not affect your routine.
Know what a plug cannot measure
A plug reports the energy passing through its own outlet, so it cannot account for other devices sharing a circuit or reveal a home’s total consumption. Readings can help compare one appliance with another, but differences in reporting intervals and app calculations may limit precise comparisons across brands. If your goal is to understand whole-home usage, a collection of outlet plugs may leave major loads uncounted. For a single appliance, a plug can provide a practical view of its behavior over time. Use measured data as a guide to patterns rather than assuming it explains every part of an electricity bill. This distinction can help you decide whether outlet monitoring is enough for your question.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will Matter let me see energy use in any smart-home app?
Not necessarily. Matter support can help a plug join compatible smart-home platforms, but the energy-monitoring details available there can differ from the manufacturer’s app. Before choosing a Matter model, check whether your preferred platform displays energy readings and whether it keeps usage history. You may still need the brand app for reporting, even if you use another platform for voice control or automation. If energy data is your main reason for buying, verify the reporting interface first.
Can I use one of these plugs to check an appliance’s electricity cost?
Possibly, if its app reports energy use and lets you enter an electricity rate or otherwise estimate cost. The result depends on the accuracy of the usage data and whether your rate changes by time or season. A flat-rate estimate can misrepresent bills on time-of-use plans. Look for a history period long enough to capture normal use, especially for appliances that run irregularly. Treat the app’s figure as an estimate unless its method matches your utility plan.
Is a four-pack a better buy than starting with two plugs?
A four-pack makes sense when you already know which four outlets you want to measure and the plugs fit your app and platform plans. If you are still learning what the readings can tell you, a smaller bundle can help you test the workflow before placing plugs around the home. The Tapo P115 appears here in both two- and four-pack versions, so buyers can choose the quantity without changing model. Check the exact listing contents and specifications before ordering. More monitored outlets only help when you have a question for each one.
Are smart plugs with energy monitoring suitable for heaters or other high-draw appliances?
Do not rely on the monitoring label alone to decide. Confirm the appliance’s current draw, the plug’s rated limits, and the manufacturer’s instructions for both products. A stated 15A rating does not automatically make every high-draw appliance appropriate, especially when the device has a motor or heating element. Also check how the appliance behaves when power is cut and restored by a smart plug. If the fit is uncertain, use equipment designed and rated for that appliance instead.
Can these plugs tell me how much energy my whole home uses?
No single outlet plug measures the whole home; it reports the load connected through that plug. You could monitor several appliances individually, but that would still leave lighting, built-in equipment, and other outlets outside the readings. The Emporia plug may appeal to buyers already looking at that brand’s energy tools, though buyers should confirm which system-level features are supported. For a home-wide view, compare dedicated whole-home monitoring options with the cost and effort of adding many plugs. Choose outlet monitoring when you want appliance-level detail.
Conclusion
For the best overall balance in this lineup, I’d choose the Tapo P115 4-Pack for its stated 15A capacity, energy monitoring, and four-plug bundle. The Tapo P115 2-Pack is the best value for a smaller setup when two outlets are enough, while the Kasa KP115 suits buyers who want monitoring in the Kasa family without making Matter a requirement. For a premium, cross-platform direction, compare the Matter-enabled Kasa KP125MP4 and Tapo P110M against the platforms you use; the Kasa KP125MP2 offers the same Kasa model in a smaller bundle. Beginners should start with a manageable pack and an app they will check, while shoppers drawn to Emporia, Govee, or SONOFF should confirm that each app’s reporting fits their needs. I’d treat the Pro Energy and generically named Smart Plug Outlet multipacks as shortlist candidates only after checking their exact monitoring, platform, and safety specifications.
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.














